Using the Butternut Squash

‘Tis the season for butternut squash and instead of always making soup, which is lovely, we’re trying to find other ways to eat it.

I found this recipe for butternut squash and chickpea curry from Julia over at vikalinka.com (she has amazing recipes, so check out her website) and decided to try it out. We ended up having it on Monday, not on purpose, but if you take part in meatless Monday then this is perfect for you. Click the source for the recipe.

65f922a307c5cc5bb4c13477d7b5aead

Source

I made a few changes to the recipe. I’m not a huge fan of frozen peas, so we left them out and I used a garam masala paste to make it a bit spicier.

I made nearly a double batch so that we could have some for lunch the next day and it was even nicer on Tuesday. So, I’d definitely recommend making a lot and keeping it for later in the week!

Photos from vikalinka.com

10 thoughts on “Using the Butternut Squash

  1. Mmmmm… interesting! Pumpkin and peas… sorry, chickpeas!! Sounds far too vegan for me but as I also don’t like peas I’ll have to find a way of tweaking it!! But… isn’t that part of the fun? 😉

Leave a Reply

