Achill Island

I’ve been very lucky to have travelled a lot and I’m also lucky to live in a very beautiful country, which is on so many people’s bucket lists. Besides just visiting places, I love taking photos, as anyone who follows this blog knows. So, I’ve decided to do one post a week with a travel theme. I’m going to alternate it – home or away. This week I’m starting with a home post. One of my favourite places in Ireland is Achill Island, Co Mayo. It is an island, but it connected to the mainland by a bridge. If you are lucky enough to get it on a good day (or three!), it’s amazing.

One of the best things about Achill is that it is home to five blue-flag beaches in its small area and each one offers something different. There is a wide range of water sports available, as well as fishing, walking/hiking and just lazing about. Check out the Achill Tourism website here.

It’s been five years since I was last there and I think it might be time to go on another trip soon.

5 thoughts on “Achill Island

Leave a Reply

